The Temple of Fu

code, systems and games

Linux – Mounting CIFS NAS

leave a comment »

Mounting Network Shares in Linux

CIFS

I used FreeNAS for awhile . I had multiple mount points formatted UFS and accessed via the network through CIFS. I attach to them like so, this allowed me full rwx.

# mount -t cifs //172.16.15.4/crammed /mnt/store1/ -o guest,iocharset=utf8,noperm,file_mode=0777,dir_mode=0777

SMBFS

I bought a hardware NAS that I connect to via Samba. To list the shares on the device run the following command

smbclient -L ipofdevice

If an error like the following is received it is OK, we are testing the client and not the server. Note I connect to my NAS as a guest so I enter no password when it asks.

smbclient: Can't load /etc/samba/smb.conf - run testparm to debug it

So to actually mount a share run the following command as root. Note destinationFolderName must exist or an error will be received.

smbmount //ipaddressOfNAS/sourceFolderName /mnt/destintationFolderName

To make the mount permanent you must edit /etc/fstab and add an entry for the above mount. That way every time the system is rebooted the device will automatically be mounted, like a Network Drive in Windows.

EOF

Written by lordfu

January 13, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Posted in Linux, Slackware

Leave a Reply

