The Temple of Fu

code, systems and games

Asus P5Q-E – Intel Core 2 Duo E8440 Black Screen

with 2 comments

I have a Asus P5Q-E motherboard in my main workstation at home. I recently just bought a Intel Core 2 Duo E8440 as an upgrade cpu. When I installed it and upon the first boot with the new CPU in place, I got a black screen and a completely unresponsive workstation (even pressing power had no effect).

I went to Asus’ website and downloaded the latest BIOS release P5Q-E-ASUS-2101.ROM for my motherboard. I slapped this new ROM file onto a usb stick and installed it. Voila! I can boot with the new CPU!

Hope this helps!

Notes:

Prior BIOS version was 1.01 I think, not the factory default.

Booting with old cpu in place worked after my first failed attempt at booting with the new one.

Written by lordfu

February 20, 2010 at 3:48 pm

Posted in Hardware

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. well, duh… I could have told you that! 🙂

    du2tri

    February 22, 2010 at 3:00 am


Leave a Reply

