The Temple of Fu

code, systems and games

CentOS 5 – QmailToaster Virtual Appliance – Install and Setup

with one comment

This is the first time I have ever used an appliance of any sort. I have always had a gut feeling it was wrong to let someone “build” my system for me but after a day of playing with this I must say how impressed I actually am. This was so easy. These are the notes from me installing the virtual appliance QmailToaster

Get QmailToaster from here

I installed this virtual appliance onto a CentOS 5.1 Linux host running the free version of VmWare server.

QmailToaster is a full blown turnkey mail solution built on the CentOS 4.3 release, it does not have VmWare tools installed and is allocated 384MB of RAM initially. The following packages are not shipped with the virtual appliance:

  • Qmail
  • SquirrelMail
  • SpamAssassin
  • ClamAV
  • Courier IMAP

This is due to the Qmail license, so they can’t distribute binaries. So the install of these applications are automated after boot through download and then compiled.

Features of this appliance are:

  • Source RPM packages ready for RPM based distributions
  • SMTP with SMTP-AUTH, TLS, REMOTE-AUTH
  • Domainkeys and SPF “Sender Policy Framework”
  • Integrated SpamAssassin, ClamAV and Simscan
  • Warlord virus and worm loader realtime scanning
  • CHKUSER 2.0 functions for qmail-smtpd
  • Qmail-Tap provides email archive capability
  • Virtual Domains (MySQL), Virtual Users (MySQL)
  • Autoresponder, Mailing List
  • Web-based email system, Web-based administration tools
  • POP3, POP3-SSL, IMAP and IMAP-SSL

Install the appliance

I created a guest inside VmWare and set it to boot from the downloaded ISO file from above. The settings I changed before booting the guest was removing the cdrom and usb device and then adjusting the network interface to use bridged networking. Bridged networking allows me to use the NIC within the virtual appliance as if it physically had one i.e.(I can give the NIC of the appliance its own unique IP address).

I then booted and watched. It runs through its’ normal install routine and then reboots.

Roots password is ‘password’ (with no single quotes), so login and change it!

I then ran /usr/sbin/timeconfig and set my timezone.

Changed the hostname and networking information.

Edit the following two files adding in your desired hostname in place of localhost.localdomain:
  #nano /etc/sysconfig/network
  #nano /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0

I configured Apache to operate on the new network information.

I have a local name server so I configured resolvers.

I changed default password for the admin-toaster web interface.

To log into http://localip/admin-toaster/ you’ll need to login to the command line and
change the password manually. The plain-text password should be located in but you can
also change it this way:
htpasswd -bc /usr/share/toaster/include/admin.htpasswd admin mynewpassword

I played with SquirrelMail located at http://localip/webmail/.

I updated the machine
#yum -y update

There is a separate smtp service running on port 587 just for smtp-auth. That service uses a different tcp.smtp.cdb file which allows all connections, it also does no rbl checking. I had to open port 587 on my firewall and have my client software(Thunderbird,Outlook,etc) use port 587 for outgoing mail. I did not however want to configure this on sendmail for all my servers that ship logs. I do use my mail server for relaying logs to a separate account. I had to do this.

I removed the apache docs (don’t know why I did)
#cd /var/www/ && rm -Rf manual

I changed the root password to mysql. I searched the net to try and find the default pass but could not find one, so I did it like this.

I changed the password for the vpopmail user’s access to MySQL

#nano /home/vpopmail/etc/vpopmail.mysql
host|0|vpopmailuser|password|database
#echo "GRANT ALL ON vpopmail.* TO vpopmail@localhost IDENTIFIED BY 'PUTNEWPASSHERE';" | mysql -u root -p

Written by lordfu

March 8, 2010 at 12:06 am

Posted in Linux, RedHats

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oh my god, this is so technical. 🙂

    neil

    March 12, 2010 at 8:57 am


Leave a Reply

