The Temple of Fu

code, systems and games

Slackware – udev renamed eth0 to eth1

with one comment

So I picked up a new motherboard and decided to go ahead and set it up today. For those interested I bought a Asus P5G41T-M LX. It’s a MATX board to replace my aging Asus P4C800-E. It’s a huge jump from a 3.4 P4 to a 2.8 C2D. I have Slackware 13.1 installed so I just planned on swapping all the components and then booting up, and for the most part all of this has gone extremely well up till now. Upon first boot up I received no network activity.

I configured eth0 within /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf including my gateway to my liking and then tried to bring up the interface.

/etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 eth0 start

Ping google and then nothing still. Hmmmmm.

So I checked dmesg to see what the deal was, maybe I missed a message during boot.
dmesg | grep eth

I saw the following.
udev renamed eth0 to eth1

Well after I did some research, I found that the MAC address of my old card was still being referenced within /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules . I commented out the offending line and rebooted (I know for shame) and all was good in the world.

So in summary I COMPLETELY changed all my hardware except for my hard drive that had Slack installed and the only thing I have had to do so far to get back to a complete system was fix one entry in a file.

I won’t even get into the fact this hard drive also dual boots Windows which is completely trashed at this point and will need a reinstall.

Slackware is King!

Edit: This same approach worked after a re-install of Win 7 as the host. I installed latest version of VBox out at this time (v 4.3.20) and simply pointed it to my saved vdisks. I had no internet on boot, commented out old line in /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules, rebooted, internet.

Written by lordfu

October 21, 2010 at 1:48 pm

Posted in Slackware

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I fixed myself…. https://lordfu.wordpress.com/2010/10/…-eth0-to-eth1/ In case people wonder what […]


Leave a Reply

